GCC countries approved Unified Tourist Visa for easier regional travel

The ministers of the GCC have given their approval to a single visa system that would be modeled after Schengen. This will have a big positive impact on travel and tourism throughout the Gulf Cooperation Council countries, which include the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, Oman, and Kuwait.

Unified GCC Visa:

The unified visa will streamline the visa application process for tourists and allow them to visit multiple GCC countries with a single visa, similar to the Schengen visa system in Europe. The GCC ministers announced the unanimous approval of the visa during a meeting in Muscat, Oman.

The unified GCC visa aims to boost tourism in the region by simplifying the visa application process. Currently, tourists must obtain separate visas for each GCC country they wish to visit, despite the interconnected nature of these countries via air and road.

Benefits of the Unified Visa:

It is anticipated that the unified visa system will be beneficial to long-haul travelers since it will provide a single package that will enable them to visit numerous GCC nations. This will very certainly lengthen the duration of their visits and encourage higher levels of expenditure by tourists.

Launch Date:

While the exact launch date has not been specified, Oman's Minister of Heritage and Tourism, Salim bin Mohammed Al Mahrouqi, mentioned that the unified visa system will be launched "very soon." The proposal will be presented at a meeting of regional interior ministers scheduled for November in Muscat.

Collaborative Initiatives:

The GCC countries are likely to implement collaborative efforts, such as joint publicity campaigns and shared platforms, to promote the unified visa. This could include a common booking platform and a joint tourism website.

Eligibility for Residents:

The eligibility and application process for GCC residents, including expatriates, have not been clarified. The ministers have discussed the potential for a single visa system that would allow residents to travel freely between member states, but details remain to be finalized.

The unified GCC visa will grant holders access to all six member states, including the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, Oman, and Kuwait.

Cost and validity:

The price and validity period of the unified visa have not been disclosed as of yet. By the end of the year, more information ought to be available.

The unified GCC visa is anticipated to have a transformative impact on tourism and travel within the Gulf region. The simplified visa process and the ability to explore multiple countries with a single visa are expected to make the GCC an even more attractive destination for travelers and tourists.

Read also: EU announces aid Suspension for Palestinian authorities due to Hamas attacks

Follow Us on Follow Akhbrna News at Google News
Join Telegram channel